Ritual.

Hello,

The day before a concert usually goes about the same way every time. The day is filled with preparations, both mental and physical. First, it’s thinking of what I’m going to wear. This may sound superficial, but concerts require a certain type of clothes. The outfit has to be comfortable, un-fuck-up-able, and still feel concert-y. Next, it’s packing my bag with everything that might be needed, without making the bag too heavy. Then it’s taking a shower and fixing my hair so that it too is un-fuck-up-able. The last step is getting prepared mentally. This is done by listening to every song created by the band on repeat. Again. And again. And again.

This is where I am now. Tomorrow is the day I’m going to see White Lies live. To hear White Lies live. I’m so excited I don’t know what to do with myself. My hands are shaking and my body is buzzing with excitement. As I hear the words “This is bigger than us.” blast through my ears, I feel like I want to cry. This is bigger than us. I’ve loved this band for three years and finally the day has come. This is huge. I want to put this feeling in a bottle so I can open it up when I’m having an off day, but I can’t. Writing a post is the next-best thing though. I guess this is a new part of my pre-concert ritual. Writing about it the day before. And I’m going to write about it the day after as well. Holy fuck. I’m overwhelmed. But so happy. Oh, I’m so happy I could cry.

Love & White Lies

Leave a Reply

